A Puddle of Pickles

Just a normal abnormal life.

Old Fashioned Girl in an Ever Changing World

Leave a comment

I’ve been realizing lately that I am what people would probably consider old fashioned these days. It’s been since taking a break from my Facebook newsfeed. “How so?” you might ask. Well, truth be told, I don’t like a lot of technology anymore. I prefer the “real” thing.

Phone calls? Yes please.I still like texting, but lately, I’ve been liking making and getting phone calls. I’ve been trying to avoid my Facebook newsfeed as it affects my mood. As a result, I find myself needing other socialization. Phone calls have been great therapy.

Physical catalogs? REALLY helps my retail therapy. I like to browse online, but there’s something about browsing through a physical catalog that just gets me more excited. I’m less likely to buy impulsively, too, because I can’t just add it to my cart with the option of checking out immediately.

Physical magazines? Better than Pinterest. More relaxing. Like reading Pinterest in a book. It’s better on your eyes and brain, too.

I also don’t like keeping my calendar and planner in my phone. sure, nice and handy right there. But for me, having it physically in hand helps me feel more organized. I’m always scrambling on my phone trying to find where something is because I have SOOOOOO much stored on my phone and computer. If I have a physical organizer with physical tabs that I can go directly to, it’s so much easier for me.

I do have organized files on my computer. I do like doing that for my business. But, all in all, my brain can’t handle so many electronics all the time. It really affects me staring at a screen all the time.

So why am I blogging? I still welcome forms of technology for my brain. I can still exercise my writing by sharing with others through the internet. But for my more private thoughts, I prefer physical writing. I prefer writing my music by hand. It’s more…what’s the word…magical to write by hand. It’s like I can feel and connect better with what I’m writing. I’m living what I’m writing when I write by hand.

So while I know not everyone is like me, I still encourage the world to escape the world of electronics every once in a while. Take a break. Make a phone call. Read a book. Browse a big fat catalog. Try it. Do it. I bet you’ll be glad you did. There is nothing like it.

Author: Mandy

I am an Herbalife coach currently located in Texas. I am a previous military wife. I have two amazing little children alongside my wonderful husband, their father. I deal with anxiety, depression, and a mood disorder and have all my life. I also have a strong faith in God and trust in Him to help me through all of it. He's given me a passion of helping others through my gifts in the same way I have been helped. The purpose of this blog is to share my journeys in my mental health as a way to inspire and encourage those who read.

Leave a Reply

