The Introverted Salesperson

I’d like to write in response to an article I got thanks to WAHLeaders. It’s called “Is Network Marketing Right for You?“.

It truly put into good words what I feel about direct sales and just small businesses in sales in general. It put it into better perspective for me, too, and made me more sure that it is in fact right for me.

It points out that everyone’s experience will determine their viewpoint on network marketing and that it can sometimes lead us in the wrong way. From there, it goes on to say how much network marketing, especially in direct sales, has grown just in the last 10 years and why.

The first part that got me was where it said that people are starting to get into home businesses more because they’re “tired of the corporate rat race.” How true that seems to me. Every day I grow a stronger and stronger disposition to corporations out there. I hate working for them, too. Wal-Mart is a big one I often scowl at, especially with how they treat their employees. If you currently work or have worked for them, I actually admire you. I can’t imagine the hustle and bustle of working for them.

I’ve worked for Sally Beauty Supply and Cosmoprof as far as retail corporations go. While I liked their product and selling it, it was the companies I did not like working for. It was too…what’s the word…pressured. Even in comparison to direct sales and the goals you strive for. In direct sales, the goals and incentives they give you aren’t requirements, though. In the corporate world, they are. Where I worked, if you didn’t sell a certain amount of POM’s (Products of the Month), you got in trouble. All in all, the corporate world is too big and too greedy. I feel they contribute poorly to our economy. This article compares it by listing the benefits of getting into a home business or network marketing, which are mainly just a ton of aspects of flexibility.

Next is where the article really starts to pull me in. Everyone knows that network marketing is all about selling, right? Well, according to this article, wrong. It calls this a “myth.” So this being the typical way we look at it, we tend to steer clear of it if we don’t see ourselves as the type to sell things. However, most of those who are successful in the network marketing world actually tend to be introverts. Introverts typically keep to themselves, right?

Well, I am an introvert. I never used to see myself as a salesperson or someone who might have my own business. I didn’t think I had the smarts for it. I’m still not a “salesperson” per say. I can do sales. But I do it in a manner of passion and sincerity. Not saying the typical “salesperson” isn’t genuine or in the wrong profession. If they’re good at even selling something they’re not passionate about, then hey, whatever works! But me, I sell things I believe wholeheartedly in. Working at Sally’s and Cosmoprof, I might have liked the product and was able to sell it sometimes. But I wasn’t always comfortable with it. We were often required to sell one certain product. That product wasn’t always necessarily something I liked or truly believed in. And if I really didn’t like it, I still told people.

Working the way I do allows me more freedom to be genuine and honest. I picked companies that I love. I did my research and fell in love with the product AND the company. With that in mind, I’m more confidant in myself and what I’m doing.

The way technology has advanced opens even more doors for introverts, too. The article points out how, because of this, where we are located in geographic terms doesn’t matter anymore. Meetings, trainings, and even virtual parties can now be done through live webinars. Having online stores and websites is another aid in this.

“The truth of the matter is if you are looking at network marketing as having to make sales every day, you are defeating yourself before you even start.” BAM. This is where people get turned off all the time. I know because I used to be one of those people! Being successful is not determined by selling more than the next person. Too often I see so much competitiveness in direct sales people. That is not the right way to go about it. We are ALL a team in my eyes because we are all trying to make something of ourselves. If you’re only in it to make sales and beat everyone else, I would rethink your “why.” Think about exactly why you are doing this or considering it. Basically, in the end, it is about the customer service and the kind of person you are to your customers. And if the product your selling provides a solution to someone’s problem, you are providing them a service. It doesn’t matter what you’re selling. If you believe in your product and/or company, you believe it can make someone else happy.

I highly recommend reading the article itself if you have been looking into starting your own business in direct sales and network marketing. Or if you’ve already gotten into it and are feeling discouraged. I was very glad I found it.

2 thoughts on “The Introverted Salesperson

Leave a Reply

